Staff

 

Savanna Smith
Editor-in-chief
Email: ssmith@kansan.com
Twitter: @savsmithUDK
Hometown: Salina, Kansas
Nichola McDowell
Managing editor
Email: nmcdowell@kansan.com
Twitter: @journichola
Hometown: Marietta, Georgia 

Nolan Brey
Copy chief
Email: nbrey@kansan.com
Twitter: @NolanBrey
Hometown: Sabetha, Kansas
Sydney Hoover
News editor
Email: shoover@kansan.com
Twitter: @sydhoover17
Hometown: Lenexa, Kansas
Sophia Belshe
Associate news editor
Email: sbelshe@kansan.com
Twitter: @SophiaBelshe
Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas
                                
Nicole Asbury
Investigations editor
Email: nasbury@kansan.com
Twitter: @NicoleAsbury
Hometown: Leavenworth, Kansas
 
Jack Johnson
Sports editor
Email: jjohnson@kansan.com
Twitter: @JohnyJ_15
Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas
Jakob Katzenberg
Associate sports editor
Email: jkatzenberg@kansan.com
Twitter: @KatzinHatz10
Hometown: Wamego, Kansas
Rylie Koester
Arts & culture editor
Email: rkoester@kansan.com
Twitter: @RylieKoester
Hometown: Hoisington, Kansas
Katie Counts
Associate arts & culture editor
Email: kcounts@kansan.com
Twitter: @CountsKatie752
Hometown: Saint Louis, Missouri 
Elijah Southwick
Opinions editor
Email: esouthwick@kansan.com
Twitter: @JustAGinger_
Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas
Sarah Wright
Photo editor
Email: swright@kansan.com
Twitter: @adrnired
Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas
Chance Parker 
Associate photo editor
Email: chancelee2017@ku.edu
Twitter: @thechanceparker
Hometown: Topeka, Kansas
Grant Heiman
Audience engagement editor
Email: gheiman@kansan.com
Twitter: @grantheiman
Hometown: Wichita, Kansas
Raeley Youngs
Associate engagement editor
Email: ryoungs@kansan.com
Twitter: @raeleyy
Hometown: Springfield, Missouri
Hadley Oehlert 
Social media editor
Email: hadleygraceoehlert@gmail.com
Twitter: @hadleygraceee
Hometown: Olathe, Kansas
Josh McQuade
Magazine editor (CHALK)
Email: jmcquade@kansan.com
Twitter: @JoshMcQuadeUDK
Hometown: Lindenhurst, Illinois
Philip Mueller
Design chief
Email: pmueller@kansan.com
Twitter: @PhilipMueller13
Hometown: Freeport, Illinois

Stay in the loop

Get our top stories sent right to your inbox.

View previous campaigns.