Men's basketball vs. Oklahoma

Senior guard Frank Mason III and coach Bill Self head to the locker room after senior speeches. On Senior Night, Kansas defeated Oklahoma, 73-63.

Mere hours after winning the James Naismith Trophy, Frank Mason III walked away with another player of the year honor. 

This time, Mason won the top award from the National Association of Basketball Coaches. 

Mason finished his senior campaign averaging 20.9 points, 5.2 assists and 4.2 rebounds. He finished his career at sixth in the Kansas program leaderboards in both points and assists. 

Mason is the fourth Jayhawk to win the award. Kansas legend Danny Manning won the NABC's top honor in 1988. Drew Gooden and Duke's Jay Williams tied for the award in 2002 and Nick Collison took home the award in 2003. 

Mason wasn't the only Jayhawk honored at the NABC Guardians of the Game Show on Sunday. Coach Bill Self was given the Champion Award, an honor bestowed on a college coach who "has shown extraordinary leadership and a commitment to the American Cancer Society's mission of saving lives against cancer through fundraising, education, and promotional initiatives." The Champion Award, according to the NABC, is the highest honor within the Coaches vs. Cancer program. 

Mason is en route to a possible clean sweep of national player of the year awards. There is one more national player of the year award left: the Wooden Award. He's also a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, an accolade given to the best point guard in the country.