Men's basketball open practice

Senior guard Frank Mason III smiles at the beginning of Kansas' press conference on March 16 in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

More awards came rolling in for senior guard Frank Mason III on Friday. Around the noon hour, the United States Basketball Writers Association awarded Mason with the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Mason averaged 20.9 points, 5.2 assists and 4.2 rebounds during his senior season, and sits No. 6 all-time in Kansas program history in points.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is the USBWA's National Player of the Year award. Robertson himself presented Mason with the trophy. 

"To be the first player from Kansas to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy is amazing as there have been so many great players at KU," Mason said in a news release. "There is no way I could have won this without great coaches, like coach (Bill) Self, the rest of the staff and great teammates. We accomplished a lot this season and this award would not have been won without my teammates and coaches."

Like the AP Player of the Year award Mason won on Thursday, he's also the first Jayhawk to win the award. The Big 12 has taken home the honor two years running, as Oklahoma's Buddy Hield won the Oscar Robertson Trophy last season. 

—Edited by Paola Alor